Tag: AAAA record

DNS zone: Meaning & TypesDNS zone: Meaning & Types

Today we will discover the DNS zone: what does it mean, what are the general types and what are the Domain Name System zone levels. So, if this sounds interesting to you and you want to learn more about it, you are on the right article. Let’s start!

DNS zone – Meaning

There are multiple DNS zones in the DNS. Furthermore, the DNS server you’re using is capable of managing several zones in the DNS namespace. So, a DNS zone is a subset of the DNS namespace that is managed by a single administrator. It is used as an organizational segment to provide you with more control over DNS features such as authoritative namespaces.

It would help if you directed your domain to multiple servers, including web servers, mail servers, and so on, in order for it to work correctly. Adding different types of Domain Name System records to the Domain Name System zone does this. All Domain Name System records are kept in the Domain Name System zone. It is also the sole component accountable for the Domain Name System’s existence (DNS).

General DNS zone types

We distinguish 3 main Domain Name System zone types. Here they are:

  1. Master DNS zone

The Master, also known as the Primary zone, is the principal source of domain name information. The administrator has the power to read and/or write instructions as well as administer the domain name in this zone. As a result, any essential changes and alterations to your Domain Name System data (records) should be made in this Primary (Master) zone. All updates or modifications will be propagated to the Secondary (Slave) DNS servers and the rest of the network.

  1. Slave DNS zone

A Slave DNS zone, also known as a Secondary zone, is a simple read-only version of the Master zone, and it contains all of the Domain Name System data (records) you created there. It is frequently referred to as a Slave or Backup zone. It’s important to remember that records like A or AAAA records, MX records, and so on can’t be created directly in the Secondary zone. Instead, it uses a mechanism called DNS zone transfer to obtain all of the data from the Primary.

  1. Reverse DNS zone

The Reverse Domain Name System zone, like the Forward zone, is an administrative element of the domain name space that holds records. However, it accomplishes the opposite aim of connecting IP addresses to their associated domain names. It goes hand in hand with using Reverse DNS. This zone is also restricted, with just PTR, SOA, and NS records available.

What are the DNS zone levels?

Top-level domains (such as “.com”), second-level domains (such as “example.com”), and lower-level domains, often known as subdomains (such as “info.example.com”), are all defined by the Domain Name System (DNS). A zone can exist at each of these levels.

A Name Server storing a zone file, which holds the trusted, correct DNS records for that zone, exists at each hierarchical level (DNS Hierarchy) of the DNS system.


To sum up, The Domain Name System zone makes it more simple and more controllable to govern the complete Domain system namespace. Furthermore, there are three kinds of DNS zones: Master, Slave, and Reverse. As a result, your Domain Name System will be unable to function without them.

DNS record types: 5 Most Popular ExamplesDNS record types: 5 Most Popular Examples

In this article we will take a closer look at the 5 most popular DNS record types. DNS records are text instructions. The computers need them to associate the domain names with their corresponding IP addresses.

A record

The first one from our list is the A record or also known as Address record. It’s definitely the most well-known DNS record type. We use A record to direct or point a hostname to its IP address. When we talk about it, we’re talking about IPv4 addresses (32-bit). And a newer AAAA record type that uses IPv6 addresses (128-bit).

As a result, your site’s A record will include the domain name/host (example.com), as well as the host’s location (IPv4 address), type (A), and TTL (time to live). It’s the most often utilized DNS record.

SOA record

The second one is the Start Of Authority record or SOA record for short. It is the one that is critical to understand. Why? Because it depicts the Start of the Authoritative DNS zone. This DNS record offers a lot of helpful information for the DNS zone. This DNS record is necessary if you want your network to function smoothly and without problems. It directs traffic to the primary DNS server. The DNS administrator’s information and contact information are stored in the SOA record. It also contains a number of parameters, such as the domain serial number. It’s important to note that each DNS zone should only have one SOA record.

PTR record

The PTR record is the following one. You can frequently find it as a Pointer record. We use it to execute backchecks and to reverse the A record. What is the mechanism behind it? It links a hostname to a specific IP address (IPv4 or IPv6). We need it because the rest of the world’s servers may request verification that an IP address matches a hostname before accepting a service, communicating, or doing anything else. As a result, we routinely employ it in host authentication.

MX record

The MX record, which stands for Mail Exchanger record, is another critical DNS record type. Its purpose is to direct the receiving email server for a given domain name in the proper path. It contains the domain name that points to the incoming mail server’s hostname. We should also note that it must point to a hostname rather than an IP address.

In case of failure, you can generate a backup by setting up numerous MX records with different priorities. It is critical that you are able to receive emails accurately.

CNAME record

The CNAME record is the last DNS record type on our list. Its goal is to identify which subdomain or domain name is the canonical one. For subdomains, we commonly use CNAME records. As a result, DNS administration becomes a lot easier. All of your subdomains will be affected by any changes you make to your domain name. It would be helpful if you just used a CNAME record to point your subdomains to the domain name.


Now you are familiar with the 5 most popular DNS record types – A record, SOA record, PTR record, MX record, and CNAME record. So go ahead and put them into action. Best of luck!